My Experience with the Open Source Challenge 2021

My Experience with the Open Source Challenge 2021

2020 - Open Source Novice

I've always been interested in open source but had no idea where to begin. It was a hobby that chose me, but I avoided it because I thought it was only for the big boys.

Fortunately, I took a bold step last year (30th of December, 2020) and sent a direct message to the Co-founder of Open Source Community Africa, Samson Goddy, on Twitter.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

I was delighted when he responded to my message because I was not expecting one given the large volume of messages he receives every blessed day.

I followed the link he provided and gained a better understanding of the Open Source process.

2021 - Ado-Ekiti Chapter of OSCA is formed

I saw a tweet from @saintmalik about joining the open source community, so I reluctantly responded and made some preliminary inquiries before making my final decision.

That piqued my interest in becoming an OSS Contributor, so I applied to be a core member and was accepted! 😆

image.jpeg

2021 - Open Source Challenge

I was late to the party because I was working on some projects that needed to be completed before the deadlines.

It was a fantastic experience because I got to learn about a variety of open source projects that piqued my interest. My contributions were minor, but I was glad to be able to contribute to a specific project! 🤩

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Many thanks to my Chapter Lead @saintmalik, who is always on my case to make at least one PR to any project, no matter what the changes are.

In the future, I hope to contribute to a variety of projects.

Thanks for reading, Cheers🍻